I Used To Oppose The Death Penalty

deathMy oppositon was based on my belief that the govenment should not be in the business of killing people. No matter how heinous the crime of the convicted, government murder seemed to me to be unacceptable.

My views have changed.

If the condemned person is a carnist, have at it!

No reason to kill innocent animals to keep someone alive.
If the condemned is a vegan, I continue to oppose the death penalty as to that person.


 I have come to believe that all life is precious. That each of us wants to live, whatever species we might be.


I believe that no life is worth more than another.

That view alienates me from almost the entire human population, from every government on Earth, and from most religions.

I was passionate in my opposition to the death penalty for years. I was at odds with most of my law school classmates and instructors.I was out of step with my family, my friends, and most of my acquaintances.

I watched the Innocence Project exonerate many who were wrongfully convicted. I marched, vigiled, I protested, I called, I fought the death penalty at every opportunity.

Now I say, go ahead. If the condemned is a carnist, I no longer care.

Sixty billion land animals receive the death penalty each year. As do two and a half trillion sea creatures.

There are no vigils, no appeals, no marches, no pardons, no clemencies.

Those animals are enslaved, tortured, and executed having hurt no one. They are sacrificed for human greed, expendable in the service of capitalism and profits, feeling creatures thrown away like trash by uncaring, cruel, and ignorant people. Creatures who wanted to live as much as do we all.

Were we to randomly impose the death penalty on the human population, the odds are 200 to one that we would put to death people in the chain of animal death.

And each person who is not vegan is responsible for the deaths of some 500 animals per year.

I am no longer concerned if the state eliminates them.

If I could, I’d eliminate them myself.

 

 

 

Author’s Note:

Natasha Sainsbury, of Good Karma Graphic Design, has joined Armory of the Revolution as Editor, and is responsible for the transformation of the blog’s appearance.

8 thoughts on “I Used To Oppose The Death Penalty

  1. I agree. I’m concerned that someone who is not guilty could be executed. But other than that, this is what I have come to believe. We kill innocent animals, even baby animals. We kill them in barbaric ways. We grind them up, slit their throats, stab them. We use bolt guns and sledge hammers. We use harpoon, hooks, nets, arrows, and bullets. We decapitate them and scald them. Cats and dogs in some countries are boiled or burned alive. Some are eaten while they are still breathing and conscious.

    So if we do all of that to innocent animals, why is it so terrible to use what is essentially euthanasia for guilty humans who have committed terrible crimes.

    The real moral horror is not the execution of guilty humans; it is the massacre of innocent animals.

    Like

  2. Why limit the killing of carnists to the convicted. Why not take up a gun right now and start eliminating all carnists. I suppose if you kill a carnist who kills a human, than the death penalty is appropriate, but why wait for a human death if “all life is precious” and “each of us wants to live.”

    Murder is murder, whether of a duck or a dolt or a human dunce, yes?

    For all the vegans out there, how many murders were you a part of, complicit in before your self-righteous reformation. Has the (moral) statue of limitations expired? May we eliminate you for your past crimes?

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I have read this article in the past.

        “Carnivores keep populations in check, and the elimination of them to reduce the suffering of prey ignores the suffering of prey due to overpopulation, starvation, and disease, which are minimized by predation.”

        I don’t know how accurate this assertion is. I realize many supposed experts have made it and continue to promulgate it, but it is done so in the ignored context of a world of 7.3 billion people. I realize we–humans–aren’t going anywhere soon, but I have to believe the reality of the predation-prey dynamic is grossly affected by our human population and the infrastructure we have created for ourselves. You remove humans from this equation or change our value in it, and the reduction of suffering, whether from predation or famine, is altered.

        Perhaps we are presumptuous about our moral agency and unique autonomy. My life is more important than the stray cats in my neighborhood. From the bird’s perspective, his life is more important than the worm’s. All your questions about the value of life are derived by you. You may say the cat’s life isn’t as precious as the mouse’s life, but the cat doesn’t care about your perspective. Now, the world is sprinkled with human welfarists who want to speak for everyone else.

        For me, one of the biggest hypocrisies of our supposed kindness toward animal life is all the killing we do for our preferred pets, the feline and the canine. Remember, these two species account for most of the 60 billion in expenditures each year in this country for pets. Roland, you like to tell us 500 animals die each year, on average, for a human carnist. Well, would you figure out for me how many animals die each year, on average, to feed a privileged feline or a pampered canine?

        Like

  3. Well argued! And if there is any meaning whatsoever to the concept of “justice”, particularly egregious and heinous crimes (like trophy hunting for instance) deserve some form of proportionate punishment. That’s why individuals like Ted Nugent, Walter Palmer and Jan Seski merit their heads on pikes.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

