I have decided not to be “Vegan” anymore. I still love animals.

V Kind

It’s true. I gave it a lot of thought, and made up my mind that I will no longer refer to myself as vegan.

For several reasons.

While it used to mean that a “vegan” was someone who didn’t use or consume animal products for ethical reasons, the term has become a buzz word favored by celebrities, followers, dieters and health connoisseurs the world over, and is fast losing its meaning of being anything to do with an animal friendly way of life. A “vegan” diet sounds trendier than “plant based” which is the correct term, unless the prime motivation is to remove our support for an industry where animal cruelty is an inherent part of its make up.

Spending time and money on a campaign which re-asserts the intended definition of a word is possible,but would be a waste of effort and resources, and could be counter productive.

View original post 324 more words

20 thoughts on “I have decided not to be “Vegan” anymore. I still love animals.

  1. The November 23, 2015 issue of _Us Magazine_ purports that Christie Brinkley is a “vegan” who consumes oysters and cheese on “her occasional cheat day….” (67.) WTF? She’s not even a vegetarian let alone a “vegan”! (And gross, by the way!)

    Like

  2. Lea Michele isn’t even a vegetarian. During her interview for the Nov. 2015 issue of _Marie Claire_, she ordered tuna. Ewwww! She also admitted that she got her big break in the business by doing sexual stuff on stage. Ewwww! She also revealed that she’s pro-natalist & pro over-breeding! Not very conscientious! But look at this quote posted on People.com:

    “A devout animal lover, Lea Michele is a vegan. ‘I’m part of a traditional Italian family, so when I became a vegan, my mother learned how to make a version of lasagne I could still enjoy,’ she told InStyle.”

    WTF? She’s a “vegan” who eats meat, dairy, and eggs?!

    Like

  3. For example, in 2010 Lea Michele purported to be vegan (Examiner.com, August 3, 2010), but now she’s promoting the consumption of eggs and cheese (Us Magazine, Oct. 19, 2015, pp. 50-51.) (See also the the June 1, 2015 issue of Us Magazine where she says she loves “grilled cheese sandwiches” and the photo shows her pulling down her pants. Guess she’s also promoting sexism. Go figure.)

    Like

  4. I agree. This study http://newswire.net/newsroom/news/00086376-more-vegetarians-and-vegans-return-to-meat-study-shows.pdf is a good example of how the word “vegan” is so misused. Obviously what they are referring to in this study is a plant based diet. There isn’t anyway a vegan knowing what we know would ever eat animal flesh. I like to say I live “cruelty free” instead of vegan–I think the term “cruelty free” says a lot more than “vegan”

    Like

  5. I agree. When I hear discussions of veganism, I feel as if I’ve gone “Through the Looking Glass.” Vegan has become a Humpty Dumpty word that means whatever the user chooses it to mean. For some people “vegan” mostly means a healthy diet that still includes fish, chicken and dairy. For others it means mostly fruits and veggies as a means to lose weight. Both groups usually give up because they do not have an ethical commitment behind their diet.

    For the PETA haters and their ilk, “vegan” a means a sanctimonious radical extremist who wants to deprive other people of the God-given right to eat everything and anything, including shark fin soup and parts of other rare species.

    So “real” vegans do what people usually do with language when they try to redefine a word that has become corrupted or turned into Humpty Dumpty speak. They seek to find a word that conveys what they really mean.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Completely agree on what veganism means now. I’m not sure the word ever had much meaning, which is why I have never regarded myself as a vegan. The recent NY Times article Vegans Go Glam is just the latest example of what vegan means to the general public.
    I follow a plant-based diet as part–and not the most important part–of my work for animals.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Feel exactly the same way! The term is becoming synonymous with a subset of narcissistic “foodies” (themselves perhaps the most boring and odious form of pseudointellectuals ever invented) who seem primarily interested in their own personal health, longevity, and moral purity. The Vegan Police regularly patrol this blog site sanctimoniously condemning anyone who deviates from their standard of ethical piety by taking pity on starving carnivores. I’ll take a red-blooded, brass-knuckled defender of animal rights who isn’t afraid to stand-up to the abusers even if he occasionally lapses by eating a hamburger over these prissy, recipe-collecting, arm-chair philosophizers any day!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I agree. I’m grateful when people fight any form of animal abuse. I get tired of purists criticizing people who condemn trophy hunters, etc., and minimize their participation because their diets don’t meet the proper standards. Maybe someday those people will be vegan if they keep learning more about the extent and number of animal victims..

      Liked by 1 person

    • Come on … this rah-rah anti-intellectualism rings of adolescence.

      “I’ll take a red-blooded, brass-knuckled defender of animal rights who isn’t afraid to stand-up to the abusers even if he occasionally lapses by eating a hamburger over these prissy, recipe-collecting, arm-chair philosophizers any day!”

      Would you name one of these “prissy” people for me with a bit of biographical information?

      Whatever veganism was, I’m not sure any commentator on this site ever faithfully embraced it.

      Like

      • I have looked in the mirror. I see a hypocrite. I don’t immodestly announce my hypocrisy, but it seems as if the mirrors of others are “painted black.” I laughed with my wife last night because we reminded ourselves we live in a carnist culture; we live in a television culture; we live in a sports fanaticism culture (of course, our culture is more than these things). My wife and I also, specifically, told ourselves we consume the art and entertainment of carnists (or carn-artists). That is, we voluntarily put money into the pockets of those whom we morally abhor because of their carnism. Now, art, for many of us, may be a matter of taste, but it ought to be more than this, and the person providing art to us ought to be of the highest moral character; however, in our world, we often understand a work of art to be separate from the moral character of its creator. Most of our cultural artists engage in the “holocaust” of livestock animals, as consumers. Obviously, I have changed my attitude about art consumption. I am less inclined to voluntarily place money into the pockets of those who dismiss the sentience and right to live of animals they consume. Implicit in the ritual of sports fanaticism is animal death. If this is so, I ought to forsake the viewing of professional sports. It is difficult evading taxes for road construction and repair, so there isn’t too much I can do about the support I provide the road worker who is a carnist, but I don’t have to consume the art or sports of those who add little, if anything, to my life. Many of them aren’t deserving of my time, anyway.

        Like

      • Maybe you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself. You didn’t make the world as it is, you were just born into it and try to cope with it the best that you can. As Aldous Huxley said: “The only corner of the universe you have absolute control over is your own self.” And no lesser a personage than Leo Tolstoy wrestled with the same kind of issue in “What is to be Done?”, a meditation on the powerlessness of the individual in a world teeming with injustice and suffering. That you even recognize the problem of the animal holocaust and try to order your life in such a way that you contribute the least amount to it makes you part of the 5%, maybe 1%, of humanity worth saving.

        Like

      • Geoff,

        To this day, I still enjoy What is Art? by Tolstoy and I have certainly enjoyed some of Huxley’s writings over the years. What is Art? is a book I read every 2 to 4 years for inspiration (one of many books I periodically re-read—I am presently re-reading Respect for Nature by Paul W. Taylor) . None of my friends or family is vegan, but I still love them and I would never think of having them eliminated from my life were a revolution to begin today. I play adult co-ed recreational soccer on most Sundays and players happily invite one another for barbecues after the games (yes, where animals are cooked). Of course, I graciously decline and don’t participate, because I usually have other things to do, though, at some point, I will participate and share my veganism with them (yes, it is something I don’t talk about unless the circumstances are right—cowardly, indeed). Now, when I gather with these men and women before a game, we are so excited about pushing ourselves physically and bonding as a team—this is our shared focus, and I truly savor it. I don’t typically socialize with any of the people I play soccer with—I see them for just two hours each Sunday, but my proximity to them as human beings means I grant them my concern and my care. It would sadden me to know if any one of them fell ill or was hurt. Now, my concern and my care for others isn’t restricted to (or by) proximity. The suffering of other earthlings all over the world is mostly always manifesting in my consciousness, and this affects my behavior and choices. A part of me doesn’t want to excuse an older carnist for his prejudice because he hasn’t been properly nudged to think about the will-to-live of other lifeforms, but then I think about my own transformation in this regard and acknowledge the probability of my still being a carnist if not for the right circumstances and my metaphysical disposition. My mom and dad will never be vegans. They are near the end of their journey. Many of their beliefs are ossified, so I won’t brutally condemn them for their prejudice. I think the complications in our lives are more nuanced than we want to admit. Yes, I think we can reduce the number of complications in our lives and be more humane toward nature, but I think it is more than just saying capitalism and carnism are bad, because the truth is deeper than this. There is no perfect world in the future, unless you believe in moral bio-enhancement. I don’t believe myself to be part of the one or five percent worth saving. I could not call for the execution of my parents or the non-vegan parents of vegans. I don’t know what the future holds for human and non-human earthlings.

        Like

Leave a Reply

