Thought of the Day. The ends justify the means. March 5, 2017

Instead of merely posting status updates on Facebook, I am now also posting each apothegm, thought, observation, and witticism, here, as a Thought of the Day.
Status updates on Facebook disappear into the ether and cannot be relocated by readers.
Before you leave, please take a moment to follow this blog by clicking on Follow in the upper right sidebar.
Readers are welcome to contribute thoughts, apothegms, observations, and witticisms. Attribution will be given for any we publish. Send an email to rolandvincent@yahoo.com with the subject Submission

Today’s Thought:

The ends justify the means.

When I was in the 7th grade at Ditmas Jr High School in Brooklyn, two kids were trying to kill pigeons in the schoolyard with slingshots. I went to one of the teachers and alerted her, thinking she would take some action. When she blew me off, I went to another and told him the kids were shooting at me. OMG! Full on attention paid. Kids corralled! Slingshots confiscated. Perpetrators banned from the schoolyard. Pigeons saved.

A week later, the two beat me up on the way home from school.

I told them I’d do it again. I dared them to try killing pigeons. They never did.

 

 

Armory Notes:

I am unaware of any other blog with the Armory’s mission of radicalizing the animal movement. I certainly hope I am not alone, and that there are similar sentiments being expressed by comrades unknown to me.

If you know of other blogs dedicated to animal rights and the defeat of capitalism, please comment with a link.

• Be sure to follow the Armory and share it with your Facebook friends and email contacts, as well as on Twitter, Google, and all other social media platforms. Our influence and effectiveness is dependent upon you!

Natasha Sainsbury, of Good Karma Graphic Design, has joined Armory of the Revolution as Editor, and is responsible for the transformation of the blog’s appearance. Visit and follow her blog V Kind.

If you are not already subscribed to the Armory, please do so before you leave.

There’s a button to Follow us in the upper right sidebar.

• Be sure to visit Armory of the Revolution’s new commissary and bookstore: The Supply Depot

You will find recommended reading on Animal Rights, revolutionary theory, politics, economics, religion, science, and atheism. There is also a section of supplies for animal liberationists, hunt saboteurs, and social revolutionaries. This is all brand new, and we will be adding lots more merchandise in the near future!

Feel free to comment. I encourage open discussion and welcome other opinions. I moderate comments because this blog has been attacked by hunters and right wing trolls. I approve comments that are critical as well as those which agree with me. Comments that I will not tolerate are those that are spam, threatening, disrespectful, or which promote animal abuse and cruelty.

If you support the Amory’s work and mission, please help us grow.

Just $3 per month will allow us to advertise!

11 thoughts on “Thought of the Day. The ends justify the means. March 5, 2017

  1. It might have been this post that got me to finally agree with a position that you’ve been pushing since before the general election, that there were distinct political advantages to be had with Trump elected to the White House. Initially I was not convinced, but today I can see that we would have been in a worse situation for the long term had Clinton triumphed. Well-done with your foresight!

    Like

  2. Great idea. Good for you!. That episode tells us what we need to know about our relationship with the rest of creation. When people harm and kill animals we call it sport, entertainment, business, or childish prank. When the same things are done to other people, we call it called crime.

    Like

  3. smart thinking for a 7th grader Roland, guess you had the gift from the very beginning. I love reading your posts and I wish I had the skills to do something similar. I’ve been involved in animal rescue and advocating for at least 30 years now so I’ve seen – and heard – so much that I’d love to share with others. I hate thinking that I could die without imparting my knowledge and experiences to a younger, new age of people who love animals and want to help. Thanks for all you do.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I think what you did was great but am not sure how it applies to current political situation. Does it mean that constructing & spreading alternative facts or fake news is OK? What is your view about the place of truth in this administration?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great Witness/Testimony Roland; Great Memories hey …. . You had it in your DNA.

    Thinking of this Terrible, CRUEL, ‘activity’ of kids shooting birds with slingshots (and with what we call ‘catees’) causes me to think of ‘fishing’ Roland. I hope I am not being too intrusive when it makes me to remember …. :

    It was 1965. I was on honey-moon with my 1st wife Hazel. We were at a place called Scottsborough, on the South Coast of South Africa. There was this Big man fishing. In his short pants with his Big pot-belly, tree-trunk legs, hands like ‘legs of mutton’ …. Anyway I was not impressed with the way that he was hooking small live fish as bait before he would ‘cast out’ his line.

    He wanted to ‘beat me up’ when I reprimanded him – also because I told him not to throw his fish on the sand/rocks where they were dying slowly, wriggling and shaking – you know, you’ve seen it. I had never fished; and Praise the GOOD Lord JESUS, I still, to this day, never have. That was 1965. I only became a Vegan in 1976 ! Gosh, looking back I WISH I had ‘known better sooner’ and gone Vegan then …. Ignorance mainly …. Lord forgive me ….

    Anyway, fortunately (for him), he decided to ‘back-off. I think it was when he saw ‘the look in my eye’, plus, I must say, I was very strong and a really good fighter, way back then …. when I was 25. Now I am 77 and I still want to fight when I see such CRUELTY …. wow how time flies ….

    Now here we are, all these years later, and it is this ‘post’ of yours Roland, 52 years after the ‘event’ that I have just described … and ‘fishing’ is still here with us …. . small wonder you want to have a full-on REVOLUTION …. I wish I could say : “Count me in Vegan-Warrior”, but I am a Christian …. (lol).

    Heaven Help us. Lord Bless, love Michael (heart).

    Liked by 3 people

      • Thank You damovand for your support.

        What a terrible, terrible ‘DIS-CONNECT’ that a ‘man’ can do such things, yet she/he then calls him/her self a ‘good person’; a ‘family woman/man’; ‘a good father/mother’; and MANY (BILLIONS) Say that they are Christians !

        Well, I say that a REAL Christian would follow their Leader JESUS who would be a Vegan TODAY. 100% for sure, in REAL CHRISTIANITY !

        Heaven Help us. Lord Bless, love Michael (heart).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

